CVTA Applauds FMCSA's Entry-Level Driver Training Final Rule

on .

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – December 7, 2016 – After 25 years of working to develop a rule that advances driver safety through training, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) released its Final Rule on Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT). CVTA commends the FMCSA for focusing on performance and process, both in the classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction, as the rule underscores the importance of training in the commercial driving profession. In addition, the Final Rule acknowledges the significance of training provider affiliations such as CVTA.

This Final Rule requires commercial drivers to receive training prior to obtaining a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL). Specifically, it requires training providers to:

  • register with the FMCSA’s Training Provider Registry (TPR) and certify that their program meets the standards for classroom and behind-the-wheel (BTW) training; 
  • certify students have completed BTW training to a proficiency standard;
  • certify their program teaches the required classroom subjects (outlined in the Final Rule), and that students have completed a written assessment covering all subjects with a passing score of 80% or higher; and 
  • certify students have demonstrated proficiency in operating a vehicle before siting for the CDL exam.

“The FMCSA has put forth a common-sense rule, which recognizes the value and importance of effectively training commercial drivers based on their actual performance,” said Don Lefeve, president & CEO, CVTA. “This Rule ensures that students can only sit for their CDL exam after demonstrating driving and knowledge proficiency. This is a major step in advancing highway safety by requiring driver training and ends nearly twenty-five years of effort to get this rule in place.”

The Final Rule goes into effect on February 6, 2017, with a compliance date of February 6, 2020.


About CVTA

The Commercial Vehicle Training Association (CVTA) is the largest association representing commercial truck driver training programs in the United States. CVTA members represent nearly 200 training providers in 41 states and trains over 50,000 commercial drivers annually. Advancing the interests of trucking’s workforce providers and employers, CVTA advocates for policies that enhance safety through commercial driver training, enable students to secure employment within the trucking and bus industries, thus further advancing driver professionalism. For more information, visit

Media Contact
Kristine Gager
Director of Communications
703.642.9444 ext. 104 (w)
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



2016 Mike O'Connell Top Rookie of the Year Winner Announced

on .

Announced during an award ceremony on August 26 at the Great American Trucking Show in Dallas, Werner Driver, Christopher Crowell, who attended CDS Tractor Trailer Training was named the Top Rookie of the Year.

Named in honor of the late CVTA Executive Director Mike O'Connell, this award recognizes the best truck driver who has been on the job for less than a year.

We would also like to congratulate the nine finalists for their excellent work as well:

  • Mario Cardenas of TMC Transportation (Roadmaster Drivers School)
  • Brian College of Carbon Express, Inc. (Commercial Drivers School)
  • Brandon Douglas of Melton Truck Lines, Inc. (American Truck Training)
  • Shawna Froehlich of Dartco, Inc. (Heavy Metal Truck Training)
  • Dave Honbarger of Maverick Transportation, Inc. (TransTech)
  • Willis Robinson of Cargo Transporters, Inc. (Future Truckers of America)
  • Kenneth Strother of Stevens Transport (Diesel Driving Academy)
  • Marc Walther of Wil-Trans (Northeast Technical Institute)
  • Kenneth Youmans of Dutch Maid Logistics (Professional Drivers Academy)

The Trucking's Top Rookie of the Year award is a partnership between Truckers News, the Truckload Cariers Association, Commercial Vehicle Training Association (CVTA), Rand McNally, Pilot Flying J, Progressive Commercial Insurance, National Association of Publicly Funded Driving Schools, American Trucking Associations and the Red Eye Radio Network.

CVTA congratulates the winner and the finalists for all their hard work and continued success as professional truck drivers.